The Department of Forage Plants and Agrometeorology is one of six departments of the Faculty of Agronomy. Currently, it has a structure composed of twelve professors of permanent body, all the doctors under exclusive dedication, plus a recently retired teacher who serves as Senior Guest.

A Degree Level with 13 disciplines is offered in the areas of Agrometeorology and forage.

A post-graduate level with 16 disciplines is offered, including oriented research, seminars and guided teaching practices.

The department has four servers in technical and administrative positions.

Dozens of students are linked to the Department, working in monitoring activities, scientific research and in paid internships or volunteer in different projects of research, teaching and extension.